新送遞距離計算功能的調整總結

photo_2022-10-13 12.07.24.jpeg

首先,衷心感謝各位在此期間的努力、回饋以及耐心。除了接收大量工單,營運團隊亦透過上星期的各區會面,收集了各個送遞員對新功能的正面及負面的意見。如兩星期前所承諾,我們今天已完成新實際送遞距離計算功能各地區及各送遞工具的調整過程。

 

Google地圖及曼哈頓距離(直角距離)為兩種截然不同的計算方法,即使相同的訂單,經過兩種機制的運算所得出的長短距離亦自然有所不同。新地圖功能的推出亦是呼應送遞團隊的期望,採用更準確和公平的實際距離取代估算距離(曼哈頓距離)以計算距離服務費。

 

儘管我們已在推出前進行一系列的測試,在正式推出後我們仍需按實際情況,對各地區及送遞工具實際出現的誤差作出調整。自9月29日推出新功能起,我們一直分析訂單數據,由於每個地區各具特點,而每個送遞工具亦有不同的服務費架構(不同的基本服務費和距離組成部分),因此,我們花了較長的時間針對每個地區仔細地作出改善。

 

以下為部分新功能與曼哈頓距離計算方案相比的重點,及兩星期間已完成的改善項目:

 

1. 自去年底以來,所有區域及送遞工具的基本(最低)服務費部分保持不變,包括相同商戶的孖單;

2. 自新功能推出以來,我們從未減少對整體服務費的投放,現在更進一步整體增加了17%距離服務費

3. 所有送遞地區及送遞工具的平均服務費收入更高;

4. 66%的訂單服務費(尤其是長距離訂單)有所提升

*15%的訂單服務費增加$5或以上;6%的訂單服務費增加$10或以上;

5. 只獲基本(最低)服務費的短距離訂單數量減少了4%(意指更多訂單獲得距離服務費);

6. 在此重申,Google地圖的功能能確保更準確的距離計算,因此所有訂單的服務費將會更公平地發放,尤其長距離的訂單將會賺取更多;

7. 我們發現相同商戶孖單的最後一段路程(由第一張訂單的客人位置前往下一張訂單的客人位置)未有被完整計算。因此,在該段路程被完整計算在服務費內前,我們會主動補償被未被納入計算的距離費用,直至問題完全解決。更多詳情將於稍後公佈。

 

在第7點及以下因系統問題而產生的服務費調整將會繼續於每週一發放,直至相關問題完全解決:

(i)接單頁面顯示服務費及實際發放服務費差距;

(ii)被取消或被轉單的相同商戶孖單的首單而未有發放100%基本(最低)服務費;

(iii)只顯示$5.55 (備用金額)訂單。

 

如早前宣佈,我們一直為所有在系統調整期間受影響的送遞員提供每日總服務費差距補償(對比舊有曼哈頓距離計算方案);由於所有調整已於今天完成,最後補償發放日期為14/10/2022(星期五)。

 

我們將會一如以往地監察及完善每項新功能。歡迎繼續透過rider app的工單提供你寶貴及具建設性的意見,或透過此連結(https://calendly.com/foodpandahkops/foodpanda-conversation-with-head-of-logistics )與我們的物流主管預約面談。我們承諾會細閱你們的意見。

 

注意安全,送遞愉快!

新送遞距離計算功能

1_2x.png
photo_2022-09-26 20.03.34.jpeg

以Google地圖計算實際送遞距離的功能將於本週正式推出並取代現有的直角距離計算方法。此功能將為送遞團隊提供更準確、更透明及更公平的服務費計算方案,而各地區及各送遞工具的基本(最低)訂單服務費將維持不變。在新功能推出期間,我們十分鼓勵送遞團隊隨時透過rider app反映你的問題或意見,讓我們確保此功能順利運作。

 

以下為新送遞距離計算方式的重點及注意事項:

 

- 新方式將使用Google地圖作實際送遞距離而非直角距離計算,能大幅提升距離計算的準確度。

- 當有多條可行路徑時,我們將會以Google所建議的路線作為依據來計算送遞距離及服務費。

- 計算孖單時,由商戶到客人之間每段路程的實際送遞距離亦會因Google地圖的計算而改善準確度,同時讓孖單服務費變得更公平。

*請參閱以上圖片以了解現時及新的孖單距離計算方式

- 新方式暫不適用於被取消的訂單(包括提取後被取消的訂單及歸還訂單),意指被取消訂單暫時仍然會使用直角距離計算。我們將會盡快升級系統使Google地圖的實際距離計算適用於所有訂單。

 

由於新方式可避免不準確的距離計算,以下為補償距離差距的服務費調整將不再適用:

 

1. 實際距離差距調整

2. 為相反方向的相同商戶孖單補償額外服務費

3. 山頂特別服務費

 

請仔細閱讀以上圖片及瀏覽panda page (https://zh.pandarider.hk/monthly-statement-adjustment )以了解更多。如你遇到任何疑難,請透過rider app建立工單向我們反映。

 

注意道路安全,送遞愉快!

Adjustment Summary on
New Distance Component Calculation Method

photo_2022-10-13 12.07.24.jpeg

...First of all, thank you all so much for the continuous effort, feedback and patience during this period. Our Operations Team has received plenty of constructive tickets, personally visited many zones last week and collected really valuable feedback from different couriers related to this feature, both positive and negative. As per our commitment two weeks ago, we have now concluded our optimisation of the new distance component calculation function for each zone and vehicle. 

 

Google Maps and Manhattan distance are two completely different measurements; it is expected that the exact same deliveries, when calculated by each mechanism, will provide different distances, both longer and shorter. The changes of the map function is one of the requests from our fleet community to use actual travelled distance instead of an estimation for distance component calculations (Manhattan distance) which is considered more accurate and fair.

 

Despite the number of tests we had conducted before the launch, specific optimisations for each zone and vehicle type were still required for mitigating specific discrepancies that were unpredictably found after rollout. Since the launch on 29/09, we have been analysing order data and adjusting individual components in each zone every day to improve the overall scheme. It has been a long process because each zone has unique characteristics and every vehicle type has different payment structures (distinct base and distance components), so each change had to be done on an individual zone level.

 

Below are the important points to note when comparing the new function to the old Manhattan methods, as well as the optimisations we have conducted over the last two weeks:

 

1. The minimum base component has remained unchanged for all zones and all vehicle types since late last year, including same-vendor stacked orders

2. We have not reduced our investment into the overall service fee, and have instead invested 17% more in the distance component

3. On average, the fleet receives higher service fees for ALL zones and ALL vehicle types 

4. 66% of orders are being paid more, especially long distance orders

*15% of orders receive $5 more & 6% of orders receive $10 more

5. 4% less orders receive the minimum base service fee for all zones and all vehicle types, meaning that more orders will receive a distance fee

6. To reiterate, the Google Maps function will ensure more accurate distance calculation, so that all orders are paid more fairly, with longer delivery distance orders being paid more

7. We found out that for same-vendor stacked orders, the distance of the last part of the trip (from the first drop-off to the additional drop-offs) is not being fully calculated. Until this situation is fixed and the full order distance is considered in the service fee calculation, we will also proactively add back the extra distance fee as a manual adjustment. Details will be shared soon.

 

This new and all the other manual adjustments related to actual bugs in the app will keep being calculated and paid weekly (every Monday) until they are fully fixed: 

(i) the discrepancy between the accepted and the paid amount, 

(ii) canceled or dispatched first order of same-vendor stacks,

(iii) the $5.55 (fallback value)orders.

 

As mentioned in the initial communication, during the whole optimisation process we have been paying adjustments for all couriers who experienced a decrease in their full day earnings when comparing the same orders using Google vs Manhattan methods. Today will be the last day considered for this specific adjustment, with the last payment date being 14/10 (Friday).

 

Just like any other feature that we launch, we will analyse all data on a continuous basis and never cease to look for opportunities to further refine and optimise where possible. Please continue to share constructive and valuable feedback with us by raising tickets via the rider app or schedule a meeting with our Head of Logistics via https://calendly.com/foodpandahkops/foodpanda-conversation-with-head-of-logistics  until 4th November . We promise that we read every single one.

 

Stay safe, healthy and thank you.

New Distance Component Calculation Method

1_2x.png
photo_2022-09-26 20.03.34.jpeg

We are extremely pleased to announce the launch of the new distance component calculation method supported by Google Maps, which will measure the actual distance traveled instead of the Manhattan length from this week onwards. The new distance calculation method will provide a more accurate, more transparent, and fairer service fee scheme to the fleet, with no change on the base (minimum) order service fee for any zones or vehicle. As with any new function launch, we highly welcome and encourage you to share your feedback with us by raising a ticket to Rider Support via the rider app, so that we can continuously monitor the performance and ensure the roll-out is as smooth as possible.

 

Below are a few key points of the new delivery distance calculation method:

 

- This new method, supported by Google Maps will vastly improve distance accuracy as it measures the actual distance traveled instead of the previous Manhattan length calculation.

- Where there are multiple paths available, the route suggested by Google Maps will be used for our service fee calculation.

-Stack order service fees will also be more accurate and fair by measuring the actual distance traveled of each journey that happens between different pickup locations (on stacked orders).

*Please refer to the image above for the Current vs. New Stack Orders Distance Calculation Methods

- This new method is not yet applicable to canceled orders (including orders canceled after pick up and return trip to vendor) at the moment (i.e. canceled orders will still be using Manhattan distance). The system will be updated soon whereby Google Maps’ actual distance traveled will also be applicable to canceled orders. 

 

Since this new function will be able to eliminate distance calculation inaccuracies, the manual adjustments previously implemented to compensate for distance discrepancies will no longer be necessary and will cease upon the deployment of the new function including:

 

1. Distance discrepancy payment adjustments

2. Opposite direction compensation for same-vendor stacked orders

3. Victoria Peak special incentives

 

Please also refer to the above images carefully and visit our panda page (https://www.pandarider.hk/monthly-statement-adjustment) to learn more. Again, please do not hesitate to reach out to Rider Support should you encounter any problems.

 

Stay safe and happy delivery!